Posted by: Sonic Alpha | January 3, 2012

The reason I stopped…

If you cast your eyes over my Flickr or DeviantART accounts, you’ll notice that the last photography piece I produced was back in 2009 (nearly 3 years ago at time of writing).

There is a reason for this, and it’s something I’ve been struggling with for quite a while. I’ve been wearing glasses for most of my adult life, and while glasses correct my vision issues they also serve as an obstruction when it comes to photography.

When I first began, this wasn’t really an issue. With built in LCD screens on my cameras, using the viewfinder was optional, meaning I could wear my glasses while easily setting up my shots. When I purchased my dSLR, I quickly found that using the viewfinder was mandatory. However, I was able to set it up so that I could easily take a pictures without the need for my glasses.

As time has passed, my vision has become steadily worse (as it does), to the point where my dSLR can’t compensate anymore.

I tried to find ways around this limitation, such as looking for Dioptre Correction equipment (basically replacement viewfinders), and even looking at new cameras that married the LCD screens from my point & shoot days to a camera as powerful as a dSLR (thus once again negating the need for the viewfinder).

Sadly, I wasn’t able to find an easy way around this. With new cameras pushing themselves further and further outside of my  price range, and Canon no longer supporting my 400D, I’ve had to accept the fact that I’m stuck with the tools I have at my disposal.

It’s more out of frustration that I haven’t picked up my camera for so long. Frustration at myself over things that I clearly can’t control. I could have easily carried on with my hobby while wearing my glasses, 20/20 glasses free vision isn’t a requirement. I guess my own stubborn nature got in the way on that front, but then there is only so much howling at the moon you can do before you lose your voice… or the sun rises.

So now I find myself very much at the beginning again, and I guess that’s what this blog is for… random moon howling, and (hopefully) the eventual sunrise. Either way, it’s time to get back behind the lens.

FriendshipDeviantART | Flickr


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Categories